Holiday Decorations

I’ve always hated not having a “true” mantle.  Around the blogosphere, there are such neat ideas of how to decorate a mantle, and I always feel short changed because I have a 1950’s fireplace with three ledges.  Ledges that are too shallow to put anything of substance, and they are in a diagonal!!

But! I did find some neat vintage Christmas cards at the Springfield Antique and Flea Market back in September (so much fun, if you’re a local, it’s a must!) and wanted to incorporate them into a Christmas vignette.  These cards had writing and everything in them!

Dec 2012

I attached two command hooks on the side of my stone/concrete fireplace last month and successfully hung paper acorns on them, seen here, and I wanted to try the same thing again.  Enter my trusty colored twine!

DSCF4267

Well, you can’t really see the twine in this photo, trust me, it’s there.  I used mini clothes pins to hang the cards, and added some Christmas ornaments for sparkle.

DSCF4271 DSCF4273

 In the dining area, I like to decorate the top of the buffet, kind of like my “stand in” mantle.  I like the red/grey/silver/snowman look in here.

DSCF4277

DSCF4279 DSCF4275

I decorated the buffet in golds & silvers, and wanted to keep a more natural look.  The picture is a little wonky, it was hard not getting my reflection in the mirror!

Happy Holidays Everyone, hope your Christmas decorating is done and you’re relaxing with loved ones!!

Leave a Reply

