Orange Kissed Sweet Potato Souffle

I buy things with the hopes of using them, then they stare at me from the kitchen counter.  Thanks to the handy dandy googler, I found a recipe to use up the sweet potatoes that have camped out in my fruit bowl.  Tonight I had the time and patience (read 5 minutes) to make a sweet potato souffle with not a drop of added sugar, as I think they are plenty sweet all on their own.

DSCF4252

Inspired by this recipe, I nixed the sugary topping and left out the oil and butter.  I combined some things into a bowl and mashed them up.  If you want precise measurements and pretty pictures, go look up the original.  If you want to throw some shaz together, gather:

  • 3 sweet potatoes
  • 1 tsp coconut oil
  • dash cinnamon and allspice
  • some orange zest
  • splash milk (I used almond milk)
  • 1 egg
  • nuts for on top (I used pecans, about 2 Tbs)

Bake the potatoes till very soft (45 min), or like me, take them out too soon, cut them up, try to mash them, then microwave them for 5 minutes till they are actually done.

Add the remaining ingredients (not the nuts) and smash till mostly smooth with a few lumps.  Dump in a small baking dish and top with your nuts.

Bake for 15-20 minutes till heated thoroughly.  Consider adding your nuts the last 8 minutes or so, because they might brown too much if you leave them in there the whole time.  Mmm..enjoy! I think the orange zest is what really makes it.

sweet pot

Leave a Reply

