Homemade Cranberry Sauce

{source}

Are you searching the internet looking for Thanksgiving sides like I am right now??  There are always the classics, but sometimes I like to switch it up a bit (read: as in no fried onions on top of my sides!).  I am in charge of green beans, homemade yeast rolls and the cranberry sauce.  I know, I got off easy, huh??

Since I didn’t have that much to make (we’re heading to a friend’s house) I decided I’d make the cranberry sauce from scratch.  This sauce is a big deal, it really isn’t Thanksgiving without it, in my opinion.  I found this recipe for tangy and sweet cranberry sauce in the archives of my email account.  I had this condiment last Thanksgiving, and my friend Connie K. was nice enough to share her recipe.   I remember it being a little different, tart and not too sweet, and much better than the traditional glop of jellied goo that comes from a can.

Don’t be fooled, this was simple to make, I had all the ingredients on hand, and it took 10 minutes to come together.  I like that some of the sweetness comes from the shredded apple instead of brown sugar or orange juice, as some other recipes use.   The best part: it can be made a couple days in advance and pulled out when its time for eating!

1 cup apple cider
1/2 cup sugar
1 Braeburn or Gala apple, peeled and grated
1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon
pinch of ground cloves-I did a good pinch
1 bag or frozen cranberries-12oz
1 tsp apple cider vinegar
salt to taste-I did a good pinch
Boil: cider, sugar, apple, cinnamon and cloves in a saucepan over medium heat, stirring until sugar dissolves. Add cranberries and simmer 10-12 minutes, or until berries burst and sauce thickens. Stir in vinegar, season with salt, and chill at least 2 hours before serving. (Can be made up to 2 days ahead).
-From Connie K. of Fulshear, Texas
Leave a Reply

