One crock-pot later..

I have a kitchen confession.  I don’t use my crock-pot that much and really don’t know what to make in it besides a hunk of meat.  I know there are a meeelion posts and pins out there of things to cook in your crock-pot, maybe I’m just slow to catch on?

A friend mention cooking chicken breast in the crock-pot and having tender shredded chicken all week.  So last week I gave it a try, and it is now my new favorite thing.  Almost no effort on Sunday, and I had great snacks and dinners all week!  The possibilities are endless…what would you make?

Add 4 large chicken breast to your crock-pot, season with S&P and cover with water or chicken broth.  Turn on low, and 6 hours later take the chicken out and shred with two forks.   Done!  Things I made with my 4 cups of chicken breast:

  • Chicken salad-use hummus and Greek yogurt as the dressing, mix in some crasins, celery and nuts, serve in pita pocket
  • Chicken noodle soup-sautee celery, carrots,  and herbs, add some chicken stock and chicken, serve over quinoa or pasta
  • BBQ Chicken sandwich-mix chicken meat with favorite bottled BBQ sauce, serve on toasted bun
  • Chicken quesadilla-add chicken, jalapenos, veggies and cheese to tortillas, brown on both sides in the skillet, top with yogurt/sour cream
  • Jambalaya-add chicken, andouille sausage & shrimp to your favorite rice and Cajun seasonings

Other things I will be making in the future:

  • Chicken tortilla soup
  • Chicken tacos/enchiladas
  • White chicken chili-green chilies and navy beans, top with cilantro and salsa
  • Greek chicken pitas with feta, cucumbers and olives
  • Skinny chicken pot pies
  • Chicken, goat cheese, sun-dried tomato appetizer dip

mmmm…can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

