Garlic Scalloped Potatoes

I usually don’t eat potatoes, I have thought of them as starchy filler foods.  In moderation, I think a potato won’t kill you, as long as you go easy with all the butter/cheese/cream that make potatoes taste so good.

Around dinner time today I noticed I had one sad potato sitting on the counter staring at me, a leftover from the mashed cauliflower and potatoes I made last week.  I knew I needed to use it soon, and the idea of warm scalloped potatoes sounded sooo good.   I used whatever I had on hand and made a one potato-sized side dish for me and hubby.

I used my handy apple peel, core and slice tool to slice the potatoes thin.  If I had a mandolin  that would have also worked, or just slicing them real thin…I used the tool because I hate peeling things.

Gather:

  • 1 large potato
  • 1/4 cup grated or shaved Parmesan
  • 1/4-1/2 cup grated cheddar cheese
  • few cheese curds-optional, we just happened to have some garlic dill ones from the farmers market
  • nutmeg, salt, pepper, Penzey’s Brady Street Cheese Sprinkle or some dried Italian herbs

In a glass measuring cup combine:

  • 1 cup milk-I used 1%
  • splash cream or half n half
  • clove of garlic-grated on a hand grater
  • nutmeg-also grated, about 1/2 tsp

1. Microwave the milk mixture for 2 minutes on 50% power, then 2 minutes on 80% power, milk should be steaming and frothy when done.

2. While the milk is warming, peel and slice potato and arrange slices in overlapping pattern in one layer of a buttered casserole dish.

3. Sprinkle with salt and pepper, pour some warm milk over, sprinkle some of your cheese, and repeat with 2 more layers, using all the milk, cheese and potatoes.

4.  Press the slices down some and bake uncovered for 45 minutes in 375 degree oven.

5.  I kept the oven on warm for 5-10 minutes till we were ready to eat and the potatoes held up well.

These smelled and tasted amazing, so much so that we dug in and I forgot to take an “after” photo..so I borrowed one from the interwebs.  Seriously, just imagine scalloped potatoes and then go make these.

I found these super easy to make, somehow I thought this side dish was labor intensive.  This might just replace mashed potatoes for Thanksgiving..*might*  They aren’t really good for you, but not horrible either.  Less cheese would bring the fat grams down, but that’s not fun.

4 Servings

Amount Per Serving:

Calories 156.5

Total Fat 7.3 g

Saturated Fat 4.7 g

Polyunsaturated Fat 0.1 g

Monounsaturated Fat 0.8 g

Cholesterol 21.1 mg

Sodium 261.5 mg

Potassium 277.8 mg

Total Carbohydrate 13.6 g

Dietary Fiber 0.7 g

Sugars 3.8 g

Protein 8.8 g

Leave a Reply

